Ria with Host & Broadcaster, Sandi Toksvig

On December 1st, I had the honour of interviewing some of the most inspirational and talented women who work in the British Film & Television industry for the Women in Film & Television Network. The energy at this annual star-studded event was absolutely electric, as a diverse range of actresses, producers, filmmakers and crew came together to celebrate each other and their outstanding achievements.

Following the shocking #MeToo revelations and allegations of sexual abuse, which have rocked the industry on both sides of the Atlantic, the WFTV awards couldn’t have been at a more necessary time for women of all backgrounds to come together, defiant and united. I cannot tell you what an honour it was to interview so many inspirational women who are paving the way for a safer and fairer future for women to work and thrive, in the film and television industry. The future feels most definitely female and I couldn’t be more excited about it! This is the moment when we must speak up, support one another, stand up for what we believe in and for what we will not tolerate and together, we can build a better, brighter future for everyone and most importantly, future generations of women to thrive.
Ria with Actress, Gemma Whelan

Ria with Actress, Celia Imrie

Ria with Presenter, Edith Bowman

Ria with Actress, Lesley Sharp

Ria with Spice Girl, Geri Horner

Award Winners:
Celia Imrie – The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award
Susan Hogg – The ENVY Producer Award
Nicole Taylor – The Creative Skillset Writing Award
Una Ni Dhonghaile – The Technicolor Creative Technology Award
Philippa Lowthorpe – The Deluxe Director Award
Nicola Shindler – The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award
Jane Root – The Barclays Business Award
Susan Stein – The Panalux Craft Award
Daisy May Cooper – The Fremantle Media UK Talent Award
Gemma Whelan – The MAC Best Performance Award
Nadiya Hussain – The EIKON Presenter Award
Marianne Jenkins – The Film Finances Project Management Award
Waad al-Kateab – The ITV Studios Achievement Award
Elhum Shakerifar – The BBC News & Factual Award