On Sunday 15th February I attended the 10th Anniversary of the Screen Nation Awards on behalf of Scene TV. I had the pleasure of interviewing the legendary actor Idris Elba, presenters Sarah-Jane Crawford and Ade Adepitan along with film Director Amma Asante amongst many others. The glitzy ceremony celebrated a decade of outstanding achievements on the British screen by many of the nation’s most admired film & TV stars.

Here’s me with legendary actor, Idris Elba


 Me with the fabulous  Film Director, Amma Asante


  Me with the lovely Presenter, Ade Adepitan


Me with Sarah-Jane Crawford

sara jane0

 And here’s the list of this year’s winners:

Rising Talent

Aaron Fontaine – Actor in Hollyoaks

Antonia Thomas – Scrotal Recall

Georgina Bobb – Producer/Entrepreneur

Nosa Igbinedion – Director WINNER

Tarah Welsh – New Reporter on BBC LOndon

Royce Pierreson – Actor in Murdered by my Boyfriend, Misfits

Ryan Calais Cameron – Actor in various


Young Shooting Star (16-25)

Ade Oyefoso – Youngers, Silk

Georgina Campbell – Murdered by My Boyfriend WINNER

Jacob Anderson – Game of Thrones, Mimic

McKell David – Montana

Modupe Adeyeye – Hollyoaks

Rebecca Scroggs – Eastenders


Favourite Female TV Star


Denise Nurse – Escape to the Country

Jamelia – Loose Women

Lorna Laidlaw – Doctors

Rochelle Humes – This Morning, Children in Need, etc

Sandra Martin & Sandy Channer – Gogglebox

Sarah Jane Crawford – X Factor WINNER


Favourite Male TV Star


Ade Adepitan – Various WINNER

Marvin Humes – The Voice, This Morning

Reggie Yates – Various

Richard Ayoade – Various

Simon Webbe – Strictly Come Dancing


Female Performance in Film

Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle WINNER

Nadine Marshall – Second Coming

Carmen Ejogo – Selma


Male Performance in Film

Aml Ameen – Maze Runner

Arnold Oceng – The Good Lie

Chiwetel Ejiofor – Half of a Yellow Sun

David Oyelowo – Selma WINNER

Harley Sylvester – The Guvnors

Idris Elba – No Good Deeds


Female Performance in TV

Laura Rollins – Doctors

Letitia Wright – Glasgow Girls

Lorna Laidlaw – Doctors

Nathalie Emmanuel – Game of Thrones

Petra Letang – Holby

Sara Martins – Death in Paradise WINNER


Male Performance in TV

David Gyasi – The Whale

Don Gilet – Holby

OT Fagbenle – Looking

Patrick Robinson – Casualty

Samuel Anderson – Dr Who, Trollied WINNER

Tobi Bakare – The Smoke, The Tunnel



Diversity in Factual Production

Fostering & Me with Lorraine Pascale – BBC2

Nat King Cole: Afraid of the Dark – BBC4 WINNER

Storyville: Mandela, The Myth & Me – BBC2

The Secret Life of Your Clothes – BBC2

The World’s War: Forgotten Soldiers of Empire – BBC2

Welcome to Rio – BBC2


Diversity in Drama Production

Death in Paradise – BBC2 WINNER

Doctors – BBC2

Game of Thrones – HBO

Holby – BBC2

Murdered by My Boyfriend – BBC3


Independent Spirit Film Production

Beauty Is WINNER

Hard Time Bus

1 Way Up

Through the Lens of Hip-Hop: UK Women


Achievement in Film Production


Half of a Yellow Sun


The Anomaly

The Double


Favourite International Movie (made by or featuring British talent)


Maze Runner (Aml Ameen)

No Good Deed (Idris Elba)

Selma (David Oyelowo, Carmen Ejogo) WINNER

The Good Lie (Arnold Oceng)

The Whale (Alrick Riley, John Boyega)


Favourite African UK Movie (made by or featuring significantly British based talent)


Afua’s Diary – Bibi Owusu-Shadbolt

Double Cross – Ama K. Abebrese

Gone Too Far – Destiny Ekaragha

Invasion 1897- Lancelot Odesuwa Imasuen & J2 Konsult WINNER

Love or Something Like That – Shirley Frimpong Manso

Mum Dad Meet Sam – Segilola Ogidan & Edith Nwekenta

The Devil in Freetown – Archie Collins Pearce

Urban Rythmn – Michael Ibiayo & Yinka Kuponiyi


Favourite Black TV Show (Magazine/Chat show led by a woman)


Culture Vultures (Rosemary Laryea) – OH TV

Family Time (Nana Akosua Boateng) – ABN TV

Ladies Talk (Angie le Mar) – Vox Africa WINNER

Pauline Long Show – BEN TV

Real Talk (Trish Adudu) – OH TV

The Nana Churcher Show – Vox Africa

The Sporah Show (Sporah Njau) – Vox Africa


Favourite UK Afrobeats Music Promo


Fuse ODG ft. Sean Paul – Dangerous Love

Kwamz & Flava – Wo Onane No

May7ven – Werk WINNER

Mista Silva ft Syron – Green Light

Moelogo ft Giggs – Baddest

Zafi B ft Atumpan – Superhero




Favourite Film 



No Good Deed WINNER

Ride Along

The Equalizer

Think Like A Man Too


Favourite Female Screen Personality


Ava Duvernay WINNER

Gabrielle Union

Kerry Washington

Shonda Rhimes

Viola Davis


Favourite Male Screen Personality


Anthony Mackie

Denzel Washington WINNER

Forest Whittaker

Kevin Hart

Tyler Perry


Honorary Awards were bestowed upon;

Outstanding Contribution Award

Harry Belafonte theAfrican-American singer, songwriter, actor and social activist.


Edric Connor Trailblazer Award

Anton Phillips the iconic British actor, producer and director, who has an acting career in Britain that broke many racial barriers.


Legacy Award

Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee (posthumously) Hollywood’s hugely respected and much loved ‘black power’ couple and civil rights activists.


Classic TV Award

Fresh Prince of Bel-air the iconic comedy series that launched Will Smith’s acting career is acknowledged as it reaches its 25th anniversary.


The Awards were sponsored and partnered by BBC, ITV, ABN TV, Tama Ra Event Designers, New African Woman Magazine, SceneTV, AfricaX5, DJA Media, Hilton, Suba App, GUBA, Kato Enterprises, Ultimalt, Star Lager, Guinness FE and Talking Drum Entertainment

#SNA2015 #Diversity